SWEET TEA SERVED IN THIS SOUTHERNER’S HOUSE

It’s been a year since my last post. A long year. I haven’t had much time to enjoy doing the crafty things I so love to do. It doesn’t help that I am a procrastinator by nature, lol. One thing I am not is a quitter so I’m back and ready to go!!
So I have been hoarding collecting a bunch of junk items that I have found in thrift stores, yard sales and on curb sides. We now have a room dedicated to store all my treasures. A room which could be used for my step daughter’s bedroom ( she’s with us everytime school is out; holiday breaks, spring break, summer time and almost every weekend).
Finally I have decided enough is enough and it’s time to get to doing not just dreaming, planning and talking about it.
So without further ado…

I saw this sign on Gina @ The Shabby Creek Cottage’s blog and fell in love. I am from and live in the South, Sweet Home Alabama , to be exact.. So sweet tea is a staple and consumed all day, everyday. You will find it served at any given meal in a Southerner’s home.

20140422-195335.jpg

I started with four pieces of wooden fence I had found on the side of the road. They had been sitting propped up against the house in the back yard since last summer. I cut them down a little and since this was actually my first time ever using a skill saw, the pieces were not exactly the same size nor cut straight.
Exactly what I was going for, Lol ( not really but go with it ). I glued the boards together with wood glue, then secured them on one side with two scrap pieces I wood. I tried cutting out stencils with my Cricut but I got frustrated and decided to use the actual letters instead. I lightly spray painted over them, then pulled the letters off and let the natural wood be the colors of the words and the white be the background. Totally opposite from my inspiration really but I love the way it turned out.

20140422-195631.jpg

Here it is again … Gina's on the left, mine on the right…

20140422-195824.jpg

Please leave a comment and tell me what ya think.

Leave a comment