Sun Tea

If you’ve seen my sign, Sweet Tea Served Here then you know I love sweet tea. Some would say its so addicting it’s like liquid crack to some of us Southerners, lol.. If you haven’t seen my sign you can check out it here. My grandmother, who’s been on my mind lately, inspired my next project.

Sun Tea is something my grandmother made every summer, a family tradition if you would. I decided this summer I will carry on that tradition.
A lot of people grill outside during the summer, not only for the taste of BBQ but to keep our houses from getting any hotter than they already are. The same idea with Sun Tea. Instead of heating up the stove by boiling the water for the tea, we have learned to let the hot summer sun do all the work.
I started with a big ole pickle jar. I washed it several times by hand and then ran it through the dishwasher a few more. Nothing ruins tea then a hint of pickle taste in it, lol.

IMG_6474-0.JPG
Ofcourse I had to make it pretty, so I powered up my Cricut and got to work. I used my Plantin Schoolhouse cartridge an cut out the word Tea in black vinyl. I also used my Home Accent cartridge to cut out what I thought could pass for the sun, lol. Painted the lid with some green spray paint from my stash and she was ready to go.

IMG_6468.JPG

IMG_6467.JPG

IMG_6469.JPG
I placed 6 tea bags inside the jar and set it outside next to my Salsa Garden .

IMG_6470.JPG
Just an hour later and it looks ready. I will let it sit a few more hours before bringing her inside, adding a cup ( or 2 ) of sugar and popping her in the refrigerator.

IMG_6473.JPG
Thanks for stopping by!
❤️ Jackie

Leave a Reply

