Painting Laminate Furniture

So my office/craft-room, if I ever finish it, it’s going to be done in white and aqua with grey accents. It’s gonna be fabulous!! Right now I have 3 pieces of furniture in the room that need to be painted white. Today I decided to do just that with our file cabinet. The cabinet is a light pine wood color from some big box store that I actually acquired from an online yardsale. It is cute but not real wood. I just happen to know that you can not just paint starlight over laminate an expect it to stick. How do I know? Trial and error, lol.
I searched the web and came up on a great tutorial on how to paint laminate furniture on the Live Love Diy blog. You can check it out here. I followed Virginia’s tutorial but worked with the paint (spray paint) and primer (Kiltz) I had on hand.
Here she is before.20140804-192704-70024238.jpg
After I painted her with the Kiltz..

20140804-192747-70067891.jpg
Finished!!!

20140804-192817-70097028.jpg
I love the way she turned out. I decided not to change the handles but to just paint right over them the same way I did the rest of the cabinet.

20140806-172135-62495222.jpg
That is her permanent home in my office. As you can see she sits under another piece of furniture that I need to paint white. I hope to have that table and a dresser,I’m using for storage, painted in the next few weeks. Stay tuned and thanks for stopping by.
Please comment, share, like and follow..
❤️ Jackie

20140806-172424-62664557.jpg

2 thoughts on “Painting Laminate Furniture

Leave a Reply

